Here is the second part of my construction of Mini Morgul. It's coming right along! I spent a couple hours on the reactor; D3Edit doesn't have an Undo function! :( Oh well, it's getting close to done now. I still need to playtest the Reactor Room, and change the atrocious textures.
The picture above is the basic construction of the Reactor Room. Looks kinda like a barn, doesn't it? As you can see, the creation of 3D objects begins with simple 2D drawings. After indicating the vertices, I just have to form the face to start the 3D step.
After forming the first face it is necessary to split the face into multiple parts. This will enable more options when designing the room. Think of it this way: more faces = more texture and lighting opportunities, and more object placement options.
Above is the design and placement of the reactor. The reactor was simply the rightmost vertices in the Side View image on the left, then lathed into an octagon. I seem to be having some difficulty with the faces of the reactor, some of them keep disappearing based on where my camera is. :( I will take a closer look in Descent and see what the trouble is.
And above you can see how the Reactor Room looks after it has been extruded, extra faces removed, and the reactor inserted. Very nice indeed!

I am going to continue work on Mini Morgul until it is finished, which will hopefully be very soon! I am also going to shortly begin work on Mines of Morgul, the large level I've been planning for several days now. Again, if you have any comments or suggestions on my modeling, don't hesitate to leave a comment below.



Leave a Reply.