I don't think most people even remember or know about Descent these days, but it was truly a revolutionary game back in its time.
Descent 3 was released in 1999, the third installment of the Descent series, made originally by Parallax and Interplay. The game has 6 degrees of FPS freedom, unlike most traditional "ground-based" FPS games. This allows a true "zero-gravity" environment that defines the series. The graphics in Descent 3 were dramatically improved from the first two games, with the addition of the Fusion Engine, which allowed open-air environments as well as the confining internal structure of the mines. Also added were multiple ships, better robot AI's, and multiple goals in-mission.

Descent 3 is an excellent game, and it is a shame that it has lost such a large playerbase over the years. Although the game does have a rather complicated control layout, the single-player has an easy tutorial for new players to learn the controls. I would like to strongly encourage my readers to take a look at what Descent 3 has to offer. It can be found for only $5.99 at GOG.com, so it is also inexpensive. For more information, go to Descent3.com.

I am going to begin working on a new level for vanilla D3 using the generic D3Edit program that comes with Descent 3: Mercenary, the expansion pack available on GOG. I may also try my hand at creating a level for the popular Pyromania mod for D3, but I will start with something small and easy first. I will post images of the progress here on my blog as I go, and will also have the level up for download once it is finished!



Leave a Reply.